News Items

last updated 06/05/2019

Entries open for 2019 Westpac New Zealand Franchise Awards

last updated 06/05/2019

May 2019 - Franchisors, franchisees and master franchisees are encouraged to enter the 25th Westpac New Zealand Franchise Awards

In 2004, Prime Minister Helen Clark presented the Supreme Franchisee of the Year Award to Tina and Gerard Kennedy of Brumby's Bakery, Rotorua

The New Zealand Franchise Awards were founded back in 1996 to recognise the top performers in franchising and help promote best practice. Franchising has grown massively since then, so for the 25th year, the Franchise Association is promising a refreshed entry and judging process to create an even more memorable awards experience for everyone.

‘This is your chance to become part of history and stand alongside “the best of the best” in franchising,’ says Robyn Pickerill, CEO of FANZ. ‘All the categories have been reviewed and revised for this year’s awards to make them even more relevant to today’s franchising.’

For franchisors

Franchisors are invited to enter one of the three Franchise System Business Category Awards ­– the winners of these categories will go on to compete for the Westpac Supreme Franchise System of the Year Award, the most prestigious title in franchising.

Franchisors can also enter several Franchise System Special Awards which recognise specific areas of expertise such as digital innovation, international achievement and community involvement.

For franchisees

‘The Westpac New Zealand Franchise Awards are also a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the brilliance that franchisees make happen every day,’ says Robyn

Franchisees are invited to enter one of the three Franchisee Business Category Awards. Again, one of these winners will be named Westpac Supreme Franchisee of the Year. Additionally, there are a number of Franchisee Special Awards to recognise excellence and achievement in specific areas.

For field managers

The Field Manager Awards were introduced a few years ago to recognise the unsung heroes of franchising – those people who train, upskill and support franchisees.

‘Do you have one of those special field managers who achieve remarkable results year after year, who is always enthusiastic, loved by their franchisees and never fails to deliver? Then put them forward for this award or encourage them to enter,’ Robyn invites.

For service providers

Accountants, consultants, financiers, lawyers and everyone else who contributes to the success of franchising – this one’s for you, says Robyn. ‘We really would like to acknowledge you so, for our 25th year, the Service Provider Awards category has been reviewed with you in mind.’

Key info and dates

In all, there are a total of 19 awards to be won in the 2019 Awards. Entry is open to all Franchise Association members and franchisees of members.

In each category, there’s a questionnaire to help entrants submit the relevant information, and full scoring guidelines are supplied to show where marks can be gained or lost. These can be downloaded now from the Awards website.

Entry Registration by Monday 3rd June

Entry Submissions by Monday 5th August

The Awards will be presented at the 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner on Saturday 9th November 2019.

See a history of the Awards here.

Order a Print Copy
Order a Print Copy